For My Great-Grandpa

Grandfather

I thought you would be around forever,

around to see my first child.

Although you had just become eighty you were still young.

It's hard seeing you just laying there

without a movement or a sound.

You don't look like the great-grandfather I knew.

There were so many things I wanted to ask you about life.

What was it like back then?

There was so much to learn from you

but I find out I'm too late.

No more big bear hugs that I always hated.

No more teasing me about boys.

No more coloring books and crayons.

No more sitting on your lap in the orange chair by the lamp

with the long chain, we as children were never allowed to touch.

No more garden swing and that old outhouse.

No more ice grinder, no more playing spoons.

No more basement with the cold floor.

No more of that awful bright light on that noisy camera

at Christmas and Thanksgiving.

I was always proud to let it be known that I still had a great-grandparent.

You were always happy to see me.

I was never bad in your eyes.

You never got mad at me for anything I did.

You always had a smile just for me.

And for that grandfather I will never forget you.

I love you.

I will miss you.

Goodbye. 

 

 

 

read at my grandpa's eulogy and a copy buried with him 

Leave a Reply

